Norton Antivirus Review [2022] Is It Right For Your Needs? - The Digital Guyde (2023)

  • About
  • Latest Posts

Digital Guyde Team

Latest posts by Digital Guyde Team (see all)

  • The Best Antivirus Solutions for Gamers – Gaming Antivirus Progams - June 27, 2022
  • Norton vs Kaspersky Internet Security Suite – Which is Better? - June 27, 2022
  • Bitdefender vs Kaspersky Internet Security Software Comparison - June 27, 2022

Norton is one of the most well-known names in the cybersecurity arena and is older than most other companies that muscle for rank in a very crowded industry. Chances are that you’ve already heard about Norton, unless you’ve been living under a rock. And if you’ve used Norton in decades past, you may have an inaccurate impression of its products.

Back in the mid to late 2000s, Norton, though still extremely successful, garnered a reputation for drastically slowing down computers. But computer salesmen at common electronics retailers like Circuit City and its blue and yellow competitor would tell you that it was worth poor performance during a scan, because it was so thorough, and that the alternative was risking getting a virus.

Those days are long past, and Norton, along with every other competitor in the industry, intentionally designs its antivirus solutions to have as small an impact on system performance as possible.

Norton Antivirus Review [2022] Is It Right For Your Needs? - The Digital Guyde (3)

Norton AntiVirus Plus 2021

$19.99

Check Price

We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.

11/18/2022 01:16 pm GMT

Norton Antivirus Review [2022] Is It Right For Your Needs? - The Digital Guyde (5)

Norton 360 Deluxe

$24.99

Check Price

We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.

11/18/2022 01:32 pm GMT

Norton Antivirus Review [2022] Is It Right For Your Needs? - The Digital Guyde (6)

Norton 360 Premium

$29.99

(Video) Norton VPN review 2022 | Best VPN and best antivirus option?

Check Price

We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.

11/18/2022 11:06 am GMT

Pricing

Norton has pricing that’s a little cheaper than the average provider. And at first glance, you may be tempted to spring for the Basic version due to its extremely low price tag. But don’t be seduced by the pricing model just yet, because you also need to take into account what features are provided with each different level of service.

It’s also worth noting that there is a free trial of the Deluxe version. The free trial lasts for 30-days and gives you access to the full product, which was pretty surprising. Usually, free trials offered by competitors will strip features away from the free trial, but Norton generously provided full access to the Deluxe version.

That makes it a great option if you need an antivirus solution right away to deal with an existing infection, especially if you’re not sure whether or not you want to commit to a subscription just yet.

For reference, the following outlines Norton’s annual pricing model:

These prices are easily justified by the features, as we’ll discuss shortly. Also, note that these prices are even below the cost of the average provider in the industry. Even the Premium plan provides good value in my opinion and comes loaded with a ton of extras. I would caution you to not be seduced by the Basic plan, however. Sure, it may be cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Norton Antivirus Review [2022] Is It Right For Your Needs? - The Digital Guyde (7)

Features

Norton separates its antivirus features into four distinct different packages: Basic, Standard, Deluxe, and Premium. The Basic version is aptly named, and will only protect a single PC.

The main difference between the three packages is the number of protection features that are provided. Some of the top features include:

  • Rapid pulse PC protection that provides updates every few minutes.
  • Spyware detection and removal with faster scanning capability.
  • Safe Web social media protection for Facebook that provides News Feed scanning to prevent rogue downloads from entering your PC.
  • Protection against hackers in the two upper-level editions of Norton.
  • Backup and Recovery in the premium edition that includes Blu-ray disc, iPod, and HD-DVD backup with 2GB of cloud storage.
  • Parental controls in the two upper-level editions of Norton.
  • Free around the clock tech support 24/7.

While it’s core feature is little more than virus scanning and malware removal, I was surprised to see that even the Basic version included identity theft protection and online transaction security. Still, I don’t think I’d ever buy the Basic plan. The biggest thing it lacks, in my opinion, is a virus-free guarantee.

Norton Antivirus Review [2022] Is It Right For Your Needs? - The Digital Guyde (8)

The Basic version includes the following features:

  • Only works on one PC
  • Protects against threats such as viruses, spyware, malware and more
  • Protects your identity during online transactions
  • An Intelligent network that identifies new viruses quickly

The Standard plan includes all of the features of the Basic plan but adds more functionality. I think that the Standard plan is the bare minimum I would recommend. Thankfully, it comes with a 100% virus free guarantee, which entitles you to a refund if Norton can’t get rid of your virus.

In addition, it even comes with customer support, which could be a godsend when a nasty virus has overtaken your PC. It even comes with a smart firewall, which I don’t think I personally see a lot of value in, but it’s better than nothing.

The Norton Security Standard – 1 Device [Download Code] Standard plan includes the following features:

  • Works on one PC, one Mac, or one mobile device
  • Includes a smart firewall feature
  • 24/7 customer support
  • Protects better and faster than the competition (see benchmark data below)
  • 100% virus-free guarantee

Norton Antivirus Review [2022] Is It Right For Your Needs? - The Digital Guyde (9)

Next is the Deluxe plan. It doesn’t really add a whole lot of extra functionality. The main benefit is its inclusion of enough licenses to be used on up to five devices. The developers also created a web portal to help you track and manage the security of all your devices, too.

The Deluxe plan includes the following features:

  • Works on up to five PCs, Macs, or mobile devices
  • Includes a web portal to manage multiple devices

Last up is the Premium plan, and it includes some features that stray away from the core value of virus protection. Nevertheless, I think the extra features are invaluable tools, such as the password manager, backup features, and the 25 GB of cloud storage.

In all honesty, I already have a third-party password manager, but too many users fail to utilize password manager apps. So, it’s handy that Norton has thrown one in with the Premium subscription.

The Premium plan includes the following features:

  • Works on up to ten PCs, Macs, or mobile devices
  • Family safety and parental control features
  • Includes backup features to protect users’ files, such as photos and personal documents
  • 25 GB of cloud storage

Independent Testing and Benchmark Data

Norton Antivirus Review [2022] Is It Right For Your Needs? - The Digital Guyde (10)

Norton, which is owned by Symantec, performed admirably in the independent lab benchmark tests. To see how well antivirus solutions stack up against each other, av-tests ran the industry’s top providers through rigorous tests designed to objectively measure the level of impact the software has on a system.

Furthermore, the tests also help quantify how many false positives an antivirus application raised, as well as its efficacy in warding of viruses in both a lab test and a real-world threat protection test.

Before we dig into the nitty-gritty details, however, please understand that there’s no such thing as a perfect antivirus solution. There are pros and cons to each service. Take false positives, for example.

(Video) Norton 360 Antivirus Review 2022 🔥 Including CPU Scan, Pros and Cons

No one likes it when their antivirus app generates a false positive, but the alternative is using software with somewhat laxer standards regarding what constitutes a virus, which could let a threat slip through the nets.

At any rate, the following data was produced from independent benchmark tests from av-tests:

  • Performance test (impact on the host system’s resources) – Norton had a moderately low impact on system performance with a rating of 5.7, which was about the same as other leading vendors.
  • False alarm test – Norton generated 96 false alarms, compared to the highest number of tested false alarms by CrowdStrike, which generated 125 false alarms. This puts Norton in second place for the most generated false alarms.
  • Malware protection test – Norton blocked 99.78% of threats, generated 96 false positives, and generated 0.22% user dependent failures.
  • Real world test – Norton successfully blocked 99.4% of tested threats with only 7 false positives in the real world protection test.

Norton Antivirus Review [2022] Is It Right For Your Needs? - The Digital Guyde (11)

Please note that in the data, it is not listed as “Norton.” Rather, it is listed as Symantec, which is the owner of the Norton brand.

Pros and Cons of Norton

Norton AntiVirus has an overall rating of being an excellent PC protection program. However, here are a few pros and cons to help you make an informed decision.

Pros

  • Norton offers a new technology capable of handling critical PC files that have become corrupt making them vulnerable to exploits.
  • Effective URL protection and blocking of malicious websites.
  • Exceptional performance when removing viruses that are deeply embedded in the operating system.
  • A clean user interface is easy to understand and use.
  • 60-day money back guarantee.

Cons

  • Removal of real-time threats is not as good as virus removal.
  • Technical support can use improvement.
  • The utilization of system resources is average using approximately 60 percent of memory and one percent use of CPU.

How does Norton compare to other antivirus programs?

  • Malwarebytes vs Norton
  • McAfee vs Norton Internet Security
  • ESET vs Norton

Final Thoughts

Overall, I was very impressed with Norton’s updated antivirus solutions. In fact, there are only two things about this service that I don’t like. Firstly, I didn’t like the functionality and features of the Basic plan. It may be dirt cheap, but it doesn’t really offer good value. Secondly, I don’t like the fact that Norton throws more false positives than the average provider.

That’s something that needs to be accepted, however, because it’s better to err on the side of caution. Other than those two factors, I think Norton is an excellent solution that will help ward off cyber attacks and digital threats effectively – and at a fair price.

Last but not least, if you’re still on the fence, then I highly recommend downloading the free trial to see if you like it. It’s worth testing it out at least because you have nothing to lose!

Norton Antivirus Review [2022] Is It Right For Your Needs? - The Digital Guyde (13)

Norton 360 Standard 2021

$19.99

(Video) Best Antivirus - What a Quality Antivirus Software Should Be

Check Price

We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.

11/18/2022 10:26 am GMT

Norton Antivirus Review [2022] Is It Right For Your Needs? - The Digital Guyde (14)

Norton 360 Deluxe

$24.99

Check Price

We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.

11/18/2022 01:32 pm GMT

Norton Antivirus Review [2022] Is It Right For Your Needs? - The Digital Guyde (15)

Norton 360 Premium

$29.99

Check Price

We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.

11/18/2022 11:06 am GMT

Recommended Reads

  • Thor Antivirus Review
  • ESET Antivirus Review
  • Total Defense Antivirus Review

FAQs

Is Norton worth it in 2022? ›

Yes, you should. Norton is a well-known brand that has been around since 1991. It has a strong reputation as antivirus software. This is because it provides complete protection against viruses and malware.

Do I need malware protection if I have Norton? ›

Yes, Norton 360 provides anti malware protection. It protects against computer viruses, spam, social dangers, phishing, identity theft, and other online born threats.

Is Norton Antivirus enough protection? ›

Strong virus protection: Norton also performed well when it came to detecting the majority of viruses on Windows and Mac. Great iOS and Android apps: While their macOS app left something to be desired, 4.7 out of five stars is pretty much perfect.

Does Norton scan everything? ›

It checks all boot records, files, and running processes to which the user has access. This scans your computer thoroughly and takes longer time.

Can I buy a new Norton instead of renewing? ›

Upgrading Your Software

Instead of renewing Norton AntiVirus, you can buy and install a different Norton or Symantec product with more features. New product purchases come with a subscription good for one year unless you pick a longer plan.

Which is safer McAfee or Norton? ›

If you don't have time to read the full McAfee vs Norton comparison, I can tell you that the winner is Norton. It boasts superior malware protection results from independent labs and better additional security features such as a VPN, cloud backup and webcam protection.

What are the disadvantages of Norton Antivirus? ›

Norton is available at a very reasonable price in the market and is not heavy on pocket.
  • The user interface of this antivirus is not many users friendly.
  • A little bit difficult for beginners.
  • Sometimes it takes much time while scanning the whole system as compare to other software.

Does Norton clean my computer? ›

Norton Utilities cleans up and speeds up your PC to help it run like new. It finds and fixes Microsoft® Windows® issues to prevent PC freezes, crashes, slow downs, and loss of your stuff. It helps your PC start up faster.

Do I really need a antivirus protection on my computer? ›

Overall, you probably still need antivirus software, but some devices need it more than others. The only operating system that you absolutely do not need to install antivirus software on is iPhones. However, Windows, macOS, and Androids still need antivirus software.

Is there a antivirus better than Norton? ›

While both antiviruses performed exceptionally well in terms of protection, McAfee had a slight edge over Norton. That's because in real-world protection tests, McAfee delivered much better results in terms of false positives than Norton. Plus, it offers extensive features for malware protection.

Does Norton block all viruses? ›

Norton 360 will protect a computer against all types of malware. In order for holistic protection against malware to be fully appreciated, computer users do need to understand a bit about malware.

What is the best antivirus Besides Norton? ›

OUR TOP TESTED PRODUCTS
  • Norton 360 Deluxe. Best for Full-Featured VPN. ...
  • Bitdefender Internet Security. Best for a Wealth of Bonus Features. ...
  • Bitdefender Total Security. Best for Unusual Bonus Features. ...
  • Norton 360 With LifeLock Select. Best for Privacy Protection. ...
  • McAfee+ ...
  • Trend Micro Maximum Security. ...
  • Avast One. ...
  • Avira Prime.

Has Norton security ever been hacked? ›

“Symantec is aware of recent claims that a number of US-based antivirus companies have been breached. We have been in contact with researchers at AdvIntel, who confirmed that Symantec (Norton) has not been impacted. We do not believe there is reason for our customers to be concerned.”

Does Norton charge for Smart scan? ›

Choosing Smart Scan checks your computer for privacy and performance issues as well as scanning for malware, much like the Smart Scan feature in Avira Free Security and Avast One Essential. Both of these are free and both belong to Norton, which has been making a lot of acquisitions lately.

Can Norton detect hackers? ›

Software such as Bitdefender, McAfee, Norton Antivirus, and VIPRE prevents hackers. There is no way to guarantee that hackers won't penetrate your devices, but these methods significantly decrease the likelihood of a hacking.

Should I remove old Norton before installing new? ›

Is it necessary to remove an older version of Norton 360 before installing the latest version? The best way of installing any Norton product, including Norton 360, is to uninstall any antivirus programs that are installed, and then to install the latest version of Norton 360.

How much does Norton charge for renewal? ›

Subscription Renewal Price List: Effective September 2022
Norton SubscriptionsDevice CountAnnual Subscription1
Norton 360 Standard1$89.99
Norton 360 Standard Plus I3$89.99
Norton 360 Standard Plus II3$99.99
Norton™ 360 LifeLock10$199.99
77 more rows

What is the difference between Norton 360 and Norton security premium? ›

The main difference between the two products is in that Norton 360 provides Secure VPN, PC SafeCam, and Dark Web Monitoring. It also provides more of online storage for PC backups and files. In United States, Norton 360 can be purchased in a bundle with LifeLock identity theft protection services.

What is the number 1 best antivirus? ›

The Best Antivirus Software of 2022
  • Avira: Best Value.
  • McAfee: Best for Comprehensive Features.
  • Avast: Best for Solopreneurs and Remote Workers.
  • Bitdefender: Best for Prevention.
  • Emsisoft: Best for High-Tech Defenses.
  • F-Secure: Best for Customization.
  • Malwarebytes: Best for Real-Time Protection.
18 Nov 2022

Which is the number 1 antivirus? ›

McAfee Antivirus Plus is our top choice for multiple devices because its subscriptions offer protection for every device in the home for a reasonable cost.

What is the number 1 antivirus software in the world today? ›

To help protect your Windows 11 or Windows 10 computer, here's our rating of the Best Antivirus Software of 2022:
  • #1 Bitdefender.
  • #2 Norton.
  • #3 Kaspersky.
  • #4 ESET.
  • #5 Webroot.
  • #5 Avast.
  • #5 McAfee.
  • #5 Trend Micro.
1 Nov 2022

Can Norton cause problems? ›

On occasion, Norton may cause your computer to run slower or even lock up after you install the program.

How much does Norton cost per year? ›

For Black Friday 2022, Norton is reducing the prices of its antivirus subscriptions to as low as $14.99 for the first year.
...
Norton Secure VPN.
Maximum Number of DevicesLength of SubscriptionTotal Amount Billed
11 Month$4.99
51 Year$39.99
51 Month$7.99
101 Year$59.99
2 more rows

Will Norton speed up my computer? ›

Your Norton product can also boost your computer speed with performance management and optimization tools that make everyday tasks go more quickly.

Does Norton remove junk files? ›

Junk File and Cache Cleaner

Removes obsolete Android Package (. apk) files (many of these files are large) that are manually installed through the Android Package Installer to reclaim phone or tablet storage space.

Do I need both Norton 360 and Norton Utilities? ›

No. Norton strongly recomends not running multiple antivirus software on the same computer because of possible conflicts. In addition, it is not possible to install, i.e. Norton 360 prior uninstalling Norton AntiVirus. Was this article helpful?

Do I need antivirus if I don't use the Internet? ›

Why You Need Antivirus at All Times. Even if you just use your device for drawing, writing, or another offline activity, you're still at risk of being infected with malware. An antivirus program won't just alert you of malicious programs; it will often quarantine or eradicate them.

Does Windows 10 need an antivirus? ›

Although Windows 10 has built-in antivirus protection in the form of Windows Defender, it still needs additional software, either Defender for Endpoint or a third-party antivirus. That is because Windows Defender lacks endpoint protection as well as full-service investigation and remediation of threats.

What happens if you don't have virus protection? ›

The most obvious consequence for poor or nonexistent virus protection is lost data. One employee clicking a malicious link can infect your entire computer system with a destructive virus that can shut down your network, wipe your hard drives, and spread to other companies and clients through the Internet.

Which is easier to use McAfee or Norton? ›

While Norton 360 is a generally more affordable software and offers monthly payment options on some of its plans, we found McAfee was the better overall software due in part to what we found to be an easier-to-operate user interface.

Is it best to buy antivirus or use free? ›

Though many free antivirus apps are great at what they do, they're often limited to anti-malware protection and a few extras. Premium security tools are much better suited to today's internet threat landscape—particularly if you're not the most experienced user.

What is the first thing you do when you get hacked? ›

Step 1: Change your passwords

This is important because hackers are looking for any point of entry into a larger network, and may gain access through a weak password. On accounts or devices that contain sensitive information, make sure your password is strong, unique—and not easily guessable.

What are the signs of a hacked computer? ›

How do I know that my computer is hacked?
  • Frequent pop-up windows, especially the ones that encourage you to visit unusual sites, or download antivirus or other software.
  • Changes to your home page.
  • Mass emails being sent from your email account.
  • Frequent crashes or unusually slow computer performance.
12 Oct 2022

Does Norton collect your data? ›

If you install our products, we collect information about you, including: Device Data. We collect information to facilitate installation and use of our products, including your device and system information such as operating system, device name, browser, network, and applications running on the device.

What is the difference between a smart scan and a quick scan in Norton? ›

Smart Scan: Runs security, performance, and network scans, and provides solutions to keep your digital life secured. Quick Scan: Scans the areas of your computer that viruses and other security risks often target.

How much should I pay for Norton? ›

Norton Utilities Premium

For example, if you have an annual subscription to Norton Security Deluxe for 5 devices ($99.99/year), and you add to it Norton Secure VPN for 1 device ($49.99/year), your renewal price is $99.99 + $49.99 = $149.98/year.

Does Norton automatically scan downloads? ›

The Norton 360 app scans your device for files and apps that are installed on your device. If there are items that require attention, review the security risks on the Security screen.

Should I put Norton on my phone? ›

Norton Security and Antivirus offers complete protection for your Android device, whether the threats come from malicious applications, phishing sites, or thieves. It costs slightly more than competing apps, but its generous license plan more than makes up for it.

Can antivirus steal your data? ›

Selling your data to third-party advertisers

It might even automatically take suspicious files it finds on your computer and upload them to a database for further analysis. This means your antivirus software could collect and process an awful lot of your personal data if it wanted to.

Does Norton track search history? ›

You can monitor a mobile device's entire browsing history to see what sites your children access and block unsuitable sites. Web Monitoring and Blocking for PCs allows you to have complete access to their browsing history with Norton 360.

Which is the best antivirus of 2022? ›

OUR TOP TESTED PRODUCTS
  • Bitdefender Antivirus Plus. Best Overall Antivirus. ...
  • Webroot SecureAnywhere AntiVirus. Best for a Small Footprint. ...
  • McAfee AntiVirus Plus. Best for Multi-Device Households. ...
  • ESET NOD32 Antivirus. Best for Techies. ...
  • G Data Antivirus. ...
  • Malwarebytes Premium. ...
  • Norton AntiVirus Plus. ...
  • Sophos Home Premium.

Which antivirus is best for PC 2022? ›

  • Microsoft Defender. Best free Windows antivirus. ...
  • Norton 360 With LifeLock Select. Best antivirus subscription for Windows. ...
  • Bitdefender Antivirus Free Edition. Best free antivirus alternative for Windows. ...
  • Malwarebytes. Best on-demand Windows malware removal. ...
  • McAfee Total Protection. Solid subscription antivirus alternative.
19 Nov 2022

Is Windows security enough in 2022? ›

Microsoft Defender antivirus is pretty safe. It has almost 100% real-time protection rates, according to independent tests. It also has additional features for device protection against malware, such as scanning, app and browser control, and account protection options.

Is Norton Antivirus going away? ›

No. The product is now called Norton AntiVirus Plus. It works on Windows PC and Mac computers, and a subscription is good for one device.

What is the number 1 rated antivirus? ›

The Best Antivirus Software of 2022
  • Avira: Best Value.
  • McAfee: Best for Comprehensive Features.
  • Avast: Best for Solopreneurs and Remote Workers.
  • Bitdefender: Best for Prevention.
  • Emsisoft: Best for High-Tech Defenses.
  • F-Secure: Best for Customization.
  • Malwarebytes: Best for Real-Time Protection.
18 Nov 2022

Which is better Norton or Windows Defender? ›

Norton 360 — Best Antivirus Alternative to Microsoft's Windows Defender in 2022. Norton 360 is better than Windows Defender in every aspect — it has higher malware detection rates, better internet security protections, more additional features, and coverage for more platforms.

Do I need antivirus software if I have Windows Defender? ›

Although Windows 10 has built-in antivirus protection in the form of Windows Defender, it still needs additional software, either Defender for Endpoint or a third-party antivirus. That is because Windows Defender lacks endpoint protection as well as full-service investigation and remediation of threats.

What virus protection does Microsoft recommend? ›

Microsoft Defender Antivirus is free and is included in Windows, always on and always working to protect your PC against malware.

Does Norton slow down computer? ›

You may have heard this one before: Norton protection may slow down my computer. Norton protection has been rated No. 1 in performance for 12 consecutive years by PassMark, a leading tester of software products. That means you should not notice a difference in speed if you have Norton protection on your device.

Is it worth installing Windows 11 2022? ›

Best answer: Yes, but you should proceed with caution as during the beginning, you may still come across bugs and unknown issues. UPDATED 11/12/2022: Windows 11 22H2 is a free upgrade for computers already running Windows 11 21H2 or Windows 10 that meet the minimum system requirements starting September 20, 2022.

Which is better Norton 360 or McAfee? ›

While Norton 360 is a generally more affordable software and offers monthly payment options on some of its plans, we found McAfee was the better overall software due in part to what we found to be an easier-to-operate user interface.

Videos

1. Norton 360 with LifeLock Review (2022) | Select, Advantage & Ultimate Plus
(The Cyber Lab)
2. Norton 360 Antivirus review | PROS & CONS
(CyberNews)
3. Norton 360 Deluxe VS Norton 360 AntiVirus Plus VS Norton 360 Standart VS Norton Advanced
(CyberNews)
4. Do you still need antivirus? A closer look at Norton 360 (LifeLock)
(TrustRadius)
5. Do Antiviruses Still Slow You Down? (2020)
(Linus Tech Tips)
6. Bitdefender vs Norton | Ultimate, Head-to-Head Comparison (2022)
(The Cyber Lab)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Pres. Lawanda Wiegand

Last Updated: 01/25/2023

Views: 6184

Rating: 4 / 5 (71 voted)

Reviews: 86% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Pres. Lawanda Wiegand

Birthday: 1993-01-10

Address: Suite 391 6963 Ullrich Shore, Bellefort, WI 01350-7893

Phone: +6806610432415

Job: Dynamic Manufacturing Assistant

Hobby: amateur radio, Taekwondo, Wood carving, Parkour, Skateboarding, Running, Rafting

Introduction: My name is Pres. Lawanda Wiegand, I am a inquisitive, helpful, glamorous, cheerful, open, clever, innocent person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.